March 10, 2010

CRUNCH TIME!! [forgot to post it---from march]









I'm back here earlier than I thought I would be! Part of the reason is because the academic work has been completely draining (when is it ever not) and partly because this season's Fashion Week (be it Milan, New York, London, Paris, etc) has been so awe-inspiring I simply could not wait another ten days to gush about it all.

To make things more organized and easily to achieve-I'd decided to make separate segments within each blog post. I'll give this format a trail run this time and it works well, i shall continue using it.

[FIRST THINGS FIRST] the segment where I review recent happenings
















Let's take a moment to mourn the passing of A. McQueen. Now, I'm not a big fan of his work (they always look too "busy" to my eyes) but I truly admire the darling and boldness in his designs. He was a true revolutionary and he made fashion fresh and exciting again.








Here's photo of the ever lovely Freja in McQueen. This is my fave shoot from the entire editorial. Freja looked gorgeous and intriguing in every photo, but the colors in the other shoots overwhelmed me completely. Then again, Terry styled it, so I was surprised I liked anything.








I love how her tattoos are visible. Some haute couture houses need to get over the "no ink on skin" thing.

[credit: tfs]








Vancouver 2010 Winter Olympics!
What a great run by the Canadian athletes! 14 Medals I heard! As I was slaving over schoolwork - I didn't manage to catch any of it. However, as a huge figure skating fan - I absolute had to watch the the couples ice dancing. Tessa Virtue and Scott Moir was like 2 swans in that arena. So elegant and graceful. Everthing was perfect. Another honorary mention: Her name escape me at the moment but this courageous champion's mother passed away 3 mere days before the competition. But she held on through her programs and managed to snag a bronze!

[credit: Yuna Kim's facebook] [credit: Yuna Kim's facebook]


And of course, Kim Yuna's effortless grace won her the gold. No surprises at that. Except for the fact that she broke her own record and came out with a total score of 228.5 9 or something equally as astounding)

THE OSCARS


Scanning through various soompi and new pages - it seems we FINALLY have a female for best director! This is excellent. I always thought the whole Hollywood behind the camera crew a bit too male dominant. But times are a changin'! I tried to watch the Hurt Locker because my beloved Ralph Fiennes (who you'll hear me spazz about quite often)is in it---but it's just too scary for me. I really am a coward in terms of these things. But from what i've head, the [credit: tfs] [credit: soompi] movie is INCREDIBLE!

Now i thought the fashion was a bit disappointing this year. Everyone looked nice and pretty but no one stood out especially. Heck, no one even stood out in a bad way (or maybe i haven't seen the rest of the photos? I saw all the nominees' though). It really seemed like everyone was too afraid to take their chances for fear of ending up on the Worst Dressed List. I was chuckling to myself about how fast the couture gowns came off the runway. I mean, Rachel McAdams' (best dressed, IMO) dress (Givenchy?) was on a model's body like 2 days before the awards!


have got to go now---untill next time!