March 10, 2010

CRUNCH TIME!! [forgot to post it---from march]









I'm back here earlier than I thought I would be! Part of the reason is because the academic work has been completely draining (when is it ever not) and partly because this season's Fashion Week (be it Milan, New York, London, Paris, etc) has been so awe-inspiring I simply could not wait another ten days to gush about it all.

To make things more organized and easily to achieve-I'd decided to make separate segments within each blog post. I'll give this format a trail run this time and it works well, i shall continue using it.

[FIRST THINGS FIRST] the segment where I review recent happenings
















Let's take a moment to mourn the passing of A. McQueen. Now, I'm not a big fan of his work (they always look too "busy" to my eyes) but I truly admire the darling and boldness in his designs. He was a true revolutionary and he made fashion fresh and exciting again.








Here's photo of the ever lovely Freja in McQueen. This is my fave shoot from the entire editorial. Freja looked gorgeous and intriguing in every photo, but the colors in the other shoots overwhelmed me completely. Then again, Terry styled it, so I was surprised I liked anything.








I love how her tattoos are visible. Some haute couture houses need to get over the "no ink on skin" thing.

[credit: tfs]








Vancouver 2010 Winter Olympics!
What a great run by the Canadian athletes! 14 Medals I heard! As I was slaving over schoolwork - I didn't manage to catch any of it. However, as a huge figure skating fan - I absolute had to watch the the couples ice dancing. Tessa Virtue and Scott Moir was like 2 swans in that arena. So elegant and graceful. Everthing was perfect. Another honorary mention: Her name escape me at the moment but this courageous champion's mother passed away 3 mere days before the competition. But she held on through her programs and managed to snag a bronze!

[credit: Yuna Kim's facebook] [credit: Yuna Kim's facebook]


And of course, Kim Yuna's effortless grace won her the gold. No surprises at that. Except for the fact that she broke her own record and came out with a total score of 228.5 9 or something equally as astounding)

THE OSCARS


Scanning through various soompi and new pages - it seems we FINALLY have a female for best director! This is excellent. I always thought the whole Hollywood behind the camera crew a bit too male dominant. But times are a changin'! I tried to watch the Hurt Locker because my beloved Ralph Fiennes (who you'll hear me spazz about quite often)is in it---but it's just too scary for me. I really am a coward in terms of these things. But from what i've head, the [credit: tfs] [credit: soompi] movie is INCREDIBLE!

Now i thought the fashion was a bit disappointing this year. Everyone looked nice and pretty but no one stood out especially. Heck, no one even stood out in a bad way (or maybe i haven't seen the rest of the photos? I saw all the nominees' though). It really seemed like everyone was too afraid to take their chances for fear of ending up on the Worst Dressed List. I was chuckling to myself about how fast the couture gowns came off the runway. I mean, Rachel McAdams' (best dressed, IMO) dress (Givenchy?) was on a model's body like 2 days before the awards!


have got to go now---untill next time!

February 22, 2010

Welcome World

Hello!

Thanks for stopping by my humble little blog.

I'd planned for this to be my ultimate "sanctuary". Somewhere I can relax, unwind and rant about life and the many curve balls it throws at me. When I registered for this blog, I had many other equally corny and lame titles in mind, such as:

COSMIC SPONGE
ORIGINS OF LOVE (blame it on Hedwig, I love him to pieces)
STAR STUFF (thanks astronomy, for making me a into a total geek)
HOW TO BE FOUND (absurdly corny)
LIVING IN THE PANIC ROOM (I really was going to go with this as the title, because it just rolls of my tongue. But I thought it was a bit too... negative? BUT, I'd manage to work into the blog description, so it's not a total loss.)

In the end, I stuck with BLIND IN ONE EYE (hereby known as BIOE), because I thought it really embodied my life. I'm fairly young, and still don't know much about "life" (though sometimes I claim otherwise); so oftentimes, it's really as though I'm living through it while blind in one eye. There's another reason why I choose BIOE as the title, but that reason won't be revealed till later.

I'm going to refrain from talking about my self at length in this post because I'm going to put all that in the Profile section. I will make every effort to update this blog regularly. But since I'm still a student, school will have to come first. Hence, I will post a minimum of one post per month. I do have blogs where I post almost weekly - but because it's so often, I don't have to time or energy to proof read or edit those posts, meaning that they are plagued by spelling and grammatical errors.

This blog, hopefully, will be devoid of that. In terms of housekeeping stuff, I'll try to make everything organized and in order. Having read a lot of fantastic blogs, I've learned a thing or two about image presentation and etc.

As this is my first post, I shall end it with a Q&A session. Maybe give you a taste of who I am, what my interests are, etc.

1. what is your current obsession?
I'm currently addicted to Tohoshinki's "Time Stops".

2. what are you wearing today?
AX tee, Espirit hoodie, Ruehl jeans

3. what’s for dinner?
Who knows...my meals are never predictable

4. what’s the last thing you bought?
Scones from Tim Hortons

5. what are you listening to right now?
Joshua Bell's album (more on this in upcoming posts. I am obsessed with him)

6. what do you think about the person who tagged you?
I got this from daydream lily's blog, who is lovely but has no idea who i am.

7. if you could have a house totally paid for, fully furnished anywhere in the world, where would you like it to be?
new york city

8. one thing you wanna change about yourself?
procrastinate less

9. if you could go anywhere in the world for the next hour, where would you go?
since it's only for an hour, I'm quite content with just being where i am - in my room, typing away.

10. which language do you want to learn?
Italian/Spanish

11. what’s your favourite quote?
"what is to be, will be. What isn't to be, sometimes happens."
I mean, isn't that what life is like? The whole "expect the unexpected" thing

12 . would you cook for me?
Uh....who are you?

13. what is the right way to avoid people who purposefully hurt you?
ignore them, because they are not worth my time

14. what are you afraid of the most?
i have a mild fear of every "common" fear there is.

15. who do you want to meet right now?
ha ha, i just wan to meet my essay deadlines. But after this nightmare's over: close friends

16. what is your favourite color?
in terms of what? I have a ton of blues and earth colours in my closet. But my fave colours in general would be black and white.

17. give us 3 styling tips that work for you.
leggings do not equate pants, wear them only if your shirt/ dress covers your tush.
don't follow trends mindlessly- as in: UGGS
being well groomed < expensive clothes

18. what is your dream job?
artist. ANY KIND
but if i had to pick one: fiction writer

19. what’s your favorite magazine?
Vogue Italia---though it isn't as good as it used to be

20. if you had $100 now, what would you spend it on?
in my "infinite wisdom", I'd say: save it in the bank
in reality: dessert, coffee, new novels I've been dyingggg to read (I went to Chapters during reading week ,but the novel i wanted was out of stock... sigh)

21. what do you consider a fashion faux pas?
visible panty lines,
unsightly bra straps showing
dark eye and lip makeup together

22. who according to you is the most over-rated writer?
stephenie meyer

23. what brings a smile on your face instantly?
long emails from loved ones

24. what do you say a lot?
"sigh"

25. what kind of haircut do you prefer?
very layered, with face framing bangs

26. what are you going to do after this?
get cracking on my papers

27. what do you do when you are feeling low or terribly depressed?
sip on something delicious, put on music

28. what makes you go wild?
when people I admire come to my city

29. what are your favourite movies?
Anything Ralph Fiennes
Anything Alan Rickman
Anything Viggo Mortensen
Anything with Clark Gable
Anything Keira Knightley
Anything Charlie Chaplin (the man is a GENIUS)


30. what inspires you?
new experiences
new perceptions of old happenings

31. what do your friends call you most commonly?
My real name is pretty short already.

32. would you prefer coffee or tea?
coffee if i feel like substance, tea if i want to feel refreshed

33. which other blogs do you love visiting?
oh, there are so many! I shall add links to them when i find time to spruce up this blog.

34. favorite dessert/sweet?
I'm not picky when it comes to food. If it's made with care, it's good enough for me

35. how many tabs are turned on in your browser right now?
2, sadly, both are school related!

36. when you looked at yourself in the mirror today, what was the first thing you thought?
because i am "blessed" with Asian hair, i don't usually spend all much time in front of the mirror. When i do, i just think: OH GAWD I AM SO PALE
37. favorite season?
early fall

38. one wish that you really want to see it come true?
to live happily and successfully

39. what breaks your heart?
elderly people working

40. what's one thing you really want to do in life?
to fulfill my dreams

Well, that's it for this time. Thank you for taking the time to get through all of this. My life will be back to normal after March 2 (currently have a ton of stuff due/ exams) so I'll try to post again then.

MyWay25